About the EDI Team

Our Mission

We aspire to promote a Department of Surgery in which the core values of diversity, equity, and inclusion shape its academic mission and inspire its members.

The Department of Surgery at the University of Toronto is one of the most accomplished surgical departments in North America - as well as one that is located in one of the most diverse cities in the world. A more equitable and representative Department will further its success beyond academic and clinical innovation; it will allow the Department to best serve the needs of its diverse communities.

Our Goals

We recognize that EDI is a complex and ongoing endeavor. In accordance with the most current Canadian research, the Faculty of Medicine has rightfully identified three immediate areas of focus:

  1. Anti-black racism
  2. Anti-Indigenous racism
  3. Gender and sexuality-based discrimination.

Though we will not limit our work to these areas alone, we will focus initial efforts here in order to effect specific and measurable impact.

Our Directors

Dr. Najib Safieddine

Dr Snell

Dr. Najib Safieddine
MD, FRCS(C)
Division of Thoracic Surgery
Michael Garron Hospital

najib.safieddine@gmail.com

Dr. Laura Snell 
MD, MSc, FRCS(C)
Division of Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery
Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
laura.snell@mac.com

Videos

EDI Lecture Dec 2020 

 

EDI Taskforce 2021

If you require guidance in navigating concerns, curriculum, or training, the following divisional representatives are available for you (Please note that Laura Snell and Najib Safieddine are serving as the Division of Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery and Division of Thoracic Surgery representatives, respectively).

Representatives are expected to act within the confidential and professional standards of their Terms of Reference as established by the EDI Directors in accordance with the University of Toronto and Faculty of Medicine.

Maryse Bouchard

Division of Orthopaedic Surgery

maryse.bouchard@sickkids.ca

The Hospital for Sick Children

Bheeshma Ravi

Division of Orthopaedic Surgery

bheeshma.ravi@sunnybrook.ca

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Jennifer Chung

Division of Cardiac Surgery

jennifer.chung@uhn.ca

UHN - TGH

Mohammed Al-Omran

Division of Vascular Surgery

mohammed.al-omran@unityhealth.ca

St. Michael’s Hospital

Ashish Kumar

Division of Neurosurgery

ashish.kumar@sunnybrook.ca

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Abhaya Kulkarni

Division of Neurosurgery

abhaya.kulkarni@sickkids.ca

The Hospital for Sick Children

Jason Lee

Division of Urology

JasonLeeUofT@gmail.com

UHN - TGH, SMH

Maryam Faiz

Division of Anatomy

maryam.faiz@utoronto.ca

IMS

Erin Kennedy

Division of General Surgery

erin.kennedy@sinaihealthsystem.ca

Mount Sinai Hospital