News & Events

Latest news and announcements from the Division of Anatomy office.

Select a category below:

New Hire & another Promotion!

2017 has been a busy year.  The Division is thrilled to welcome Dr. Maryam Faiz, Assistant Professor and Dr. Danielle Bentley, Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream.  We look forward to working with them.

Accolades and Awards

W.T. Aikins Award

Congratulations to Professor Barbara (Dee) Ballyk. She is the recipient of the 2017 W.T. Aikins Award, the Faculty of Medicine’s “most prestigious award for sustained commitment to, and excellence in, undergraduate teaching” in the M.D. Program. This award came in the category of Teaching Performance, Large Group. Professor Ballyk was nominated for this award by first-year medical students.

Also in 2017, the graduating medical class chose her to receive the Pre-clinical Dr. E. Mary Hollington Teaching Award for having “taught with distinction in the preclinical or basic science portion of the curriculum”. Congratulations, Dee!


Faculty Members Receive Teaching Awards-2015

Congratulations to the following faculty members who were honored this year with teaching awards:

Dr. Mike Wiley was awarded the Dr. Mary Hollington Award for 2015.  The graduating class selected him as the "faculty member who has taught with distinction in the pre-clinical or basic science portion of the curriculum".

Drs. Dee Ballyk and David Chan received the W.T. Aikins Award for Excellence in Course/Program Development.   The Award is the most prestigious Faculty award for commitment to, and excellence in, undergraduate medical education.  Both instructors were praised for their teaching, organization and commitment and "their ability to take a good course and make it great". 

Dr. Mike Wiley was awarded the Harry Whittaker Memorial Teaching Award in the Faculty of Medicine in 2012.  The award is decided upon annually by the students of the first year medical class and awarded to a lecturer, demonstrator or tutor who gave encouragement and displayed genuine concern for student well-being and, through personal commitment to quality teaching, provided practical and clear insights in the basic sciences during the first year of the undergraduate medical program.

Dr. Ian Taylor was the recipient of the Dr. E. Mary Hollington Pre-Clinical Teaching Award. The Dr. Mary Hollington Excellence in Pre‐clinical Teaching
This award is presented to a teacher who has demonstrated excellence in the preclinical undergraduate medical education curriculum. The winner of this award is selected by the fourth year students.

Dr. Hong Sun received a grant from the Canadian Foundation for Innovation entitled "Cellular and molecular mechanisms of stroke in diabetes and its potential therapeutic treatments".  

Dr. Paulo Koeberle was awarded funding from two highly competitive national funding agencies for his work on neural regeneration and repair.  He received a 5 year CIHR grant entitled "Focal adhesion kinase:  a pivotal role in CNS apoptosis and regeneration"  and a 5 year NSERC grant " Molecular interactions that modulate P13 kinase and MAP kinase pathways during apoptosis".

Dr. Cindi Morshead has received the Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in the Life Sciences 2015-2016 Award, as part of the Undergraduate Faculty Teaching Awards. This award recognizes sustained excellence in teaching, coordination and/or development of undergraduate lecture or seminar courses in Arts and Science offered by the Basic Science Departments in the Faculty of Medicine.

Department of Physical Therapy Team Award 2015-16
Anatomy Lab (Unit 8) Team
Anne Agur, Mary Chang, Miriam Granek, Carol Heck, Judi Laprade, Teresa Wesolowski

Job Opportunities

May 11, 2017                                                                       

Division of Anatomy,Department of Surgery
Faculty of Medicine 
Continuously-Posted Notice 



The Department of Anatomy in the Faculty of Medicine may hire Sessional Lecturers to deliver some of the courses offered to undergraduate and professional programs.  Specific courses will be posted on the Departmental website at: be considered for a position, a CUPE 3902 Unit 3 application form available at and Curriculum Vitae must be submitted to:

Cindi Morshead, PhD
Professor and Chair, Division of Anatomy
Medical Sciences Building, 
1 King’s College Circle – Room 1156
Toronto, Ontario
M5S 1A8

N.B. All applicants must have a valid e-mail address on their application.


Hiring decisions for courses offered during the Winter Session (September-April) are usually made in the preceding February-June period. For summer courses (May-August), hiring decisions are usually made in the preceding December-February period. However,some decisions may be made earlier or later than these time frames, depending on circumstances. Unexpected vacancies may arise at any time.

Applications will be retained for twenty-four (24) months.  Persons who submit applications and CVs will receive emailed job postings for specific positions for the subsequent twenty-four (24) months.

This notice is posted pursuant to the CUPE Local 3902 Unit 3 Collective Agreement.  Please note that in accordance with that agreement,preference in hiring is given to qualified persons holding the rank of Sessional Lecturer II.

All qualified candidates are encouraged to apply; however, Canadians and permanent residents will be given priority. 

Back to Top