Department of Surgery

42nd Division of General Surgery Annual Assembly, University of Toronto

May 16, 2019
All day
General Surgery

Program for the 42nd Division of General Surgery Annual Assembly, University of Toronto

Thursday, May 16th, 2019

Omni King Edward, Toronto, ON


Tovee Lecturer:         John Alverdy   

Hyde Park (Second Level)

7:00-8:00         Breakfast with the Professor (Closed - By Invitation Only)
                        Chair – Vaibhav Gupta

Crystal Ballroom Foyer - 17th Floor

7:15-8:00         Registration & Continental Breakfast                       

Crystal Ballroom - 17th Floor

8:00-8:15         Welcome       
                        Carol Swallow, Bernard & Ryna Langer Chair, Division of General Surgery, University of Toronto

8:15-9:15         Paper Session I
                       Chair – Blayne Amir Sayed

              9:15-9:45         Poster Session I and break             

9:45-10:45       Paper Session II
                         Chair – Danielle Bischof

10:45-   10:45-11:15     Poster Session II and break

11:15-11:30     Awards Presentations  
                       PGY1, 2, 3, 4 Resident Awards: Carol Swallow/Fred Brenneman

11:30-   11:30-12L30     Remembrance of E. Bruce Tovee – Zane Cohen
                                     Introduction of Tovee Lecturer – Ori Rotstein

                      “Incorporation of Microbiome Sciences into your scientific thinking and surgical practice”
                       John C. Alverdy
                       Sarah and Harold Lincoln Thompson Professor
                       Executive Vice Chair, Department of Surgery
                       University of Chicago, Pritzker School of Medicine

12:30-1:30       Lunch

12:30-1:30       Fellows’ Graduation Ceremony 
Chair – Tim Jackson  

1:30-2:30         “Supporting a Safety Culture in General Surgery”
                        Symposium facilitated by Stephanie Mason
                        Panelists – John Alverdy, Savtaj Brar, James Byrne, Ian McLean and Homer Tien

2:45-3:45         Paper Session III – “Rapid Fire”   
Chair – Ashlie Nadler  

3:45-4:30         State of the Union Address
                       Carol Swallow

Crystal Ballroom Foyer - 17th Floor

4:30-5:15         Laparoscopic Skills Competition for CAGS finalist
                        Session Chair: Ricky Jrearz

4:30-5:30         Cocktails

Crystal Ballroom – 17th Floor

5:30-8:00         Evening Program and Graduation Dinner
                       Master of Ceremonies: Carol Swallow
                       Presentation of Awards:
                       Robert Mustard Mentorship Award
                       Nicolas Colapinto Teaching Award
                       Marcus Burnstein Award for Outstanding Presentation at the Update in General Surgery

         Scientific Awards:
         PGY5 Resident Award:  Fred Brenneman
         Graduation Ceremony: Various presenters
         Valedictory address:  Ashton Connor
         Closing comments

9:00   Resident After-Party at Drake Mini Bar (150 York St)